2-3-4-2The Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons


The Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons was endorsed by 122 countries at the United Nations on July 7, 2017. The preamble of the treaty refers to the catastrophic humanitarian consequences and the unacceptable suffering of and harm caused to the victims of the use of nuclear weapons (hibakusha), and its text prohibits to develop, test, produce, manufacture, otherwise acquire, possess or stockpile nuclear weapons or other nuclear explosive devices, use and threaten to use nuclear weapons. Also, the treaty states that any nation that possesses nuclear weapons can join the treaty, on the premise that it fulfills the obligations to eliminate nuclear weapons which are in its possession not later than a designated deadline, being verified by a competent international authority.

The treaty shall be open for signatures to all States as from September 20 and enter into force after the fiftieth instrument of ratification, acceptance, approval, or accession has been deposited. It is considered that the issue to be solved by the international community is to encourage all states including nuclear armed nations and nations that are under the nuclear umbrella to sign the treaty.

East Building third floor 2 The Dangers of Nuclear Weapons